arcane X

Major Arcanas X The Wheel of Fortune

The Wheel of Fortune and Astrology

Roue-de-Fortune - astrologie

The Nodes of The Moon

The North Node and South Node of the Moon are points that are directly opposite each other. Together, they form the Nodal Axis. They are not planetary bodies; rather, they are mathematical points that take into account the relationship between the Sun, Moon, and Earth at the time of our birth. More specifically, the Moon's nodes are the points where the Moon's orbit intersect the path of the sun.

The Nodes of the Moon represent points of personal karmic imbalance. The North Node represents the kinds of experiences that we must work to develop in order to work with our karma, and to grow spiritually. The South Node represents those experiences and qualities that come naturally to us, that are over-developed, and that we tend to fall back on.

The nodes are also known as the Dragon's head (Caput Draconis), the North Node, and Dragon's Tail (Cauda Draconis), the South Node, although in Indian Astrology they are called Rahu and Ketu respectively. In mythology, this Dragon sought to devour the Sun and Moon, so causing the eclipses. The North Node, the Dragon's Head, is called the ascending node and the South Node is called the descending node. All the planets have nodes except the Sun and the Earth, but the Moon's Nodes are by far the most significant, in terms of human destiny.

So why do we associate the Wheel of Fortune with the nodes of the moon? The 10th major arcana represents the life cycles, the alternation between life and death, the eternal repetition of patterns as long as we are unconscious of them. Our limited tendencies (South node) push us to adopt the same type of behavior. To become conscious through our experiences of the present moment (North node) allows us to free ourselves from our karma, our dense actions from the past that hold us (though there is a handle, the wheel in the arcana doesn't turn) in a contracted expression of our true nature.